The Mary Hamilton Papers : Letter from John Jackson to John Dickenson

Jackson, John

The Mary Hamilton Papers

<p style='text-align: justify;'>Letter from John Jackson to John Dickenson, on the subject of politics and family news. Jackson writes that he wishes he could write more often but that he is as tired as if her were a 'labourer' after a day working at his business. He is unable to forward Dickenson any further information on the subject of politics that it is not already in the newspapers but does write that the King's recovery to health would be good for the country. If the 'Outs had once got into possession, they would not have been got out again without Force, and most likely Orange Capes would have had a serious struggle' as Jackson believed that the 'Gentry would instead of Bludgeons thrust a few Bayonets into us'. He notes that the 'Westminster Petition' is to come before the House of Commons the following Friday but that he has refused to act as an agent for it as he would have been obliged to attend daily and continues to discuss what he wishes to establish from the petition, that is he wants the 'right of voting established, and that we might know whether the inhab[itan]ts of Westm[inste]r only have the right or whether it is in those residing in Derbyshire or any other county as well as Westm[inste]r'.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>The letter continues with news on Jackson's family. Three of his children are at home ill with 'swollen necks'. He reports that Katherine and Mary are almost well but Fanny is not. His son his growing into a 'fine fellow' and believes him to be one of the best tempered children in the country. Jackson notes that he has been advised to send them to Brighton in early June.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>The letter is also concerned with general news of society and friends. The Duke [unnamed] has finished his house in Wimbledon. The Duke intends to stay in this country until September. Jackson writes that he sees him most days and that he dines with him about three days a week.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Dated at Burlington Street [London].</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Original reference No. 2.</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about downloading or sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media