The Mary Hamilton Papers : Letter from William Wake to Mary Hamilton

Wake, William, 9th Baronet

The Mary Hamilton Papers

<p style='text-align: justify;'>Letter from William Wake to Mary Hamilton. Wake writes of his disappointment at not seeing Hamilton and with general news of society and friends. Wake writes that he has at last time to write to Hamilton and asks how Hamilton can be so cruel as to stay in the country and away from Wake for three weeks. He notes his pleasure when it was decided that she was to stay in town until Christmas, only to be disappointed when he learned that Hamilton was to remain in Bulstrode [the residence of the Duchess of Portland]. Wake wishes that the Duchess would interest herself 'with her shells and fossils, and not monopolize my dear friend'. Though he admits that he is blaming the Duchess only for that he wishes to do himself.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>The letter continues on how Wake spends his time whilst in London. He attends lectures and often rides in the Park, where he 'generally has the pleasure of meeting the Prince of Wales'. He notes that Mrs Boscawen (<a target='_blank' class='externalLink uom-purple' href=''>HAM/1/6/1</a>) spoke of Hamilton and that Wake saw W[illiam] Hamilton in the city although he did not recall him until he had passed him. If he had spoken with him he would have requested him to bring Hamilton back from Bulstrode. He continues that as yet he has not been able to bring himself to call on Miss Clark[e], although he has intended to do so, as he does not want to go near Hamilton's house until he is back home.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Dated at Dover Street, [London].</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Original reference No. 9.</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about downloading or sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media