The Mary Hamilton Papers : Letter from Lady Catherine Herries (née Foote) to Mary Hamilton

Herries (née Foote), Catherine

The Mary Hamilton Papers

<p style='text-align: justify;'>Letter from Lady Catherine Herries to Mary Hamilton, relating to a proposed visit to Buxton and the accommodation arrangements for Herries and her party.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Herries writes that she received Hamilton's letter dated 5th July that morning and is delighted at Hamilton's words on the pleasure that she and her husband feel towards Herries's visit North to Buxton (see HAM/1/17/152). Herries accepts John Dickenson's offer to find suitable accommodation for her whilst she stays in Buxton. Herries writes that she requires two 'good bedrooms, a sitting room w[hic]h I cannot do without / a room for my maid & beds for two more servants'. The letter continues on the proposed visit and her accommodation needs noting that Dickenson will be best placed to decide on the house but she would like to be near to the baths if possible. She wonders if Miss Roberts is in Buxton as she does not know where she lodges but if it is in the new building then this would be good reason to stay there. Being in the same house she would have the opportunity to renew her acquaintance as in her present condition she would not be able to dine out in public at least until she becomes more acquainted with her fellow lodgers and Herries is sure that Sir Robert Herries and his companion, Mr Sackville, would prefer to dine alone with her whilst they stay.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Herries enquires with Hamilton over the possible costs. 'I suppose one pays so much a day for each person'. She asks if it is advisable to bring her own tea and sugar. Wine, she assumes, can be purchased anywhere. She notes that she will bring with her some of her own books but accepts Hamilton's offer of the use of her own collection of books which she knows is 'select'. Herries also notes that she requires a piano forte for her husband's daughter, Nina as it will upset her to 'loose her music'.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Herries ends her letter noting that she and her party will set out to Buxton on the 18th July and should arrive by the 23rd as they will be travelling with the same horses.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Dated at St James's Street, [London].</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about downloading or sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media