The Mary Hamilton Papers : Letter from Lady Catherine Herries (née Foote) to Mary Hamilton

Herries (née Foote), Catherine

The Mary Hamilton Papers

<p style='text-align: justify;'>Letter from Lady Catherine Herries to Mary Hamilton, relating to Hamilton's proposed visit to Cheltenham.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Lady Herries writes of her pleasure as soon she will be able to see her friend, and of having taken lodgings for Hamilton, which she hopes she will find suitable. It has two bedrooms and room for a servant. There will be other lodgers staying in the house, but their apartment is in a quiet part of the house. Stables are very rarely found with lodgings in Cheltenham, but Herries will look for some for their horses close by. The lodgings will include a maid and is three pound per week. Herries has taken it for a week, 'though they flatter themselves you will not move'. She has had to take the lodgings from tomorrow, as at this time of year they will not allow them to be vacant for even a day. Herries continues on when she can expect Hamilton to arrive and on having dinner with her and her family. She is eager to see her friend Hamilton and her 'heart feels a spring of gladness it rarely knows at the thought of so soon holding you to it'. She ends her letter with directions and writing that she will also send a note to be delivered to the 'Turnpike a little before you get here', just in case this letter goes astray.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Dated at Cheltenham.</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about downloading or sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media