The Mary Hamilton Papers : Letter from Lady Catherine Herries (née Foote) to Mary Hamilton

Herries (née Foote), Catherine

The Mary Hamilton Papers

<p style='text-align: justify;'>Letter from Lady Catherine Herries to Mary Hamilton. She thanks her friend for her invitation to her home but is unable to accept through reasons of expense. Her short trip to Great Malvern (see HAM/1/17/289) has cost so much 'that to make ends meet will be all that is possible'. She hopes that she will be able to see Hamilton sometime next year, 'if it please God we all live'. Herries hopes to let their house for a few months, which would enable her to visit other places. Herries continues with general news on Hamilton's and on her own family. Hamilton's uncle, Frederick Hamilton, and his wife are still in Cheltenham. He has had a bad cough and went to Malvern for a change of air. He has now returned and is well. Herries hopes that the Hamiltons being here is not preventing her friend Mary from visiting. Herries continues that her brother's wife has had a baby [Edward Foote's second wife]. She knows one should not wish for a 'change', but she would have preferred it to be a boy. Herries continues on her own 'charge', Caroline Foote [Nina's daughter]. She agrees with Hamilton's opinion of Caroline having a 'very strong head' and a 'good heart'. She hopes to 'cultivate' her herself, but if she finds it too much she will have to 'resort' to sending her to a school.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Dated at Cheltenham.</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about downloading or sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media